Industry and product information

International | New Zealand

International

  • BCC Research Reports
    Industry reports for biotechnology, manufacturing, IT, food and beverages, instrumentation and sensors, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, photonics, plastics.
  • BMI Research (Business Monitor International)
    Industries included are agribusiness, commodities, real estate, transport & shipping, ICT, petrochemicals, oil and gas, retail, construction, and pharmaceuticals. Some NZ content.
  • Business Source Premier
    Use the Industry search to find industry profiles and market research reports. NZ coverage.
  • Cortellis
    A specialised resource for pharmaceutical intelligence, including industry news and information.
  • Gartner
    Research reports on technology products, services and trends. To browse industries, look for Gartner Industry Advisory Services under Research.
  • MarketLine Advantage
    Up-to-date industry, company, and country profiles and data, including NZ.
  • Passport GMID
    Reports and data for a range of consumer product industries. NZ industries included. Look under the Industries tab for a listing of all industries covered.

New Zealand

Many of the above databases will also provide coverage of New Zealand industries.

Business, industry and professional associations can be useful sources of industry information, including reports and data about that industry. See this list from Christchurch City Libraries of NZ associations.

Databases

Journal and newspaper articles will give current information about an industry or product. Often these may be the only free sources of industry or product information, particularly market share.

Books

Use the Catalogue to find industry information in books. Search on the name of the industry and a country, eg, telecommunications New Zealand, or forestry United States.

Market share data is often difficult to find because of commercial confidentiality. Databases worth searching include:

  • Passport GMID
    Access to information and statistics on consumer market sizes, brands, major market profiles and market analysis. Good coverage of NZ industries.
  • MarketLine Advantage
    Market share information is included in the industry reports.
  • Market Information Digest (NZ)
    Data on supermarket grocery categories for NZ. Includes sales, segment of market, broad location of the market and the ranking of major brands.
  • ABI/INFORM
    Search on the industry and "market share", eg, dairy AND "market share"
  • Business Source Premier
    Search on the industry and "market share", eg, electricity AND "market share"
  • Newztext Plus (NZ)
    Indexes a number of NZ trade magazines. Useful for locating articles with market share information on products.

Industry classification codes

Businesses are assigned to an industry according to their predominant economic activity. Industry classifications are used to compile and analyse industry statistics. You can use classification codes to identify competitors in an industry.

 

Situation analysis | Industry analysis | Environmental analysis | PEST, Porter's Five Forces, SWOT | Databases

This content is useful for completing a marketing situation analysis.

Types of analyses

Situation analysis

A situation analysis provides background on a company's functions and performance from the micro-environment through to the macro-environment. Consider the following areas as a way to organise your analysis:

  • Industry history and analysis
  • Company history
  • Product analysis
  • Competitive analysis
  • Environmental analysis
  • Evaluation of consumers

Industry analysis

Industry analysis considers:

  • How an industry is performing.
  • The current status of the industry.
  • The future outlook for that industry.

To complete an industry analysis you will draw from both statistical data and industry reports.

Environmental analysis

An environmental analysis looks at the external business environment. This includes:

  • Political and legal - analysis of legislations, regulations, government policies.
  • Economic - analysis of exchange rates, inflation levels, income growth, debt and saving levels, etc. See Economic data for a list of resources.
  • Socio-cultural - analysis of social factors that influence people's choices and include the beliefs, values and attitudes of society. See Country information for a list of resources.
  • Technological - analysis of the impact of new technologies.

PEST / Porter's Five Forces / SWOT analyses

  • A PEST analysis is similar to the environment analysis, and considers political, economic, socio-cultural and technological impacts. Sometimes legal and environmental impacts are included, making it a PESTLE analysis.
  • Another type of analysis is the Porter's Five Forces scorecards. Michael Porter's book, Competitive strategy: techniques for analyzing industries and competitors, outlines his model for analysing the structure of industries.
  • A SWOT analysis considers a company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. It can be used as a tool for business planning, product development, marketing, and identifying future directions for a company.

Top of page

Databases

  • MarketLine Advantage
    • For a SWOT analysis search on the name of the company.
    • Industry profiles include the Porter's Five Forces scorecard.
    • Country profiles provide a PESTLE analysis.
  • BMI Research
    Country and industry reports providing analysis and data on economic and political factors, risk, financial markets and business environments. Also includes SWOT analyses.
  • Passport GMID
    Access to information and statistics on consumer market sizes, brands, major market profiles and market analysis.
  • ABI/INFORM
    Trade journals are useful for finding market share, sales figures, pricing information, and company and brand name rankings. SWOT Analysis can be searched as a subject heading along with the industry.
  • Business Source Premier
    Includes MarketLine company profiles and industry reports, plus industry yearbooks and country economic reports and profiles. For country profiles search Zealand country report in the SO Publication name.

Top of page

New Zealand | International

New Zealand

Some statistics are not publicly available because of the confidentiality guaranteed to businesses under the Statistics Act, 1975.

International

APA 6th

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.


Last updated : 2 December 2016
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao