Energy industry

Literature and articlesMarket and industry | Regulatory framework

Literature and articles

  • ABI/Inform
  • Business Source Premier 
    Includes DataMonitor Industry profiles and Plunketts Energy industry almanac.
  • Compendex 
    Electrical and energy engineering focus within scientific and technological literature.
  • EconLit 
    The foremost index of international literature in the field of economics. Search using the classification codes: Q4 Energy; Q400 general; Q410 demand and supply; Q420 alternative energy sources; Q430 energy and macroeconomy; Q480  government policy; Q490 other.
  • Energy and Power Source 
    Publications relating to the energy and power industries - petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, and renewable energy.
  • Energy citations database 
    Includes citations to reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related information from the US Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
  • Newztext Plus 
    Includes full text of the National Business Review and The Independent, and daily newspapers including the New Zealand Herald. Due to copyright, some Herald articles will only be accessible via Factiva.
  • Newzindex and New Zealand science 
    Formerly the Superindex, indexes New Zealand business and trade magazines and publications from Crown Research Institutes (CRI) and the Royal Society of New Zealand.
  • ScienceDirect 
    Covers academic publications; includes an energy subject area plus a list of energy related journals.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Includes the journal Wind energy.

Top of page

Market and industry

  • Business Monitor International 
    Covers the oil and gas industry mostly in emerging and transition markets; includes quarterly forecasts for consumption and production.
  • Passport GMID 
    Market profile reports on fossil fuel and nuclear power generation, statistics on energy reserves, production and consumption, consumer expenditure on electricity, gas and other fuels.

Top of page

Regulatory framework

Top of page

Books and e-books | Industry publications and newsletters | Theses and dissertations

Books, e-books and journals

Use the Catalogue Advanced Search to find books and journals held by the Library.
Recommended keyword searches include:

  • Electricity or electric
  • Energy development
  • Energy industries
  • Energy policy
  • Geothermal resources
  • Hydrothermal or hydroelectricity
  • Power resources
  • Renewable energy resources
  • Solar energy
  • Wind power

Try these reference sources:

Industry publications and newsletters

Top of page

Theses and dissertations

Use Finding theses and dissertations to locate theses on energy.

Top of page

Companies | New Zealand | International | University Research Centres | Wind power sites


Top of page

New Zealand

Top of page


Top of page

University research centres

Top of page

Wind power sites

Top of page

APA 6th


  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support materials to assist your referencing work.


  • Quickcite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 18 August 2015
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao