Applied Language Studies and Linguistics
Access to library resources
As distance students, you can use the Catalogue to find records of items the library holds.
Use your NetAccount login to access electronic resources, eg, books and journals, held by the Library.
- In print
Physical items can only be requested by students based in New Zealand, using:
Use to access books, and copies of book chapters or articles from print and microfilm journals, held in the University of Auckland Library system. Delivery is arranged through the Flexible Service.
- Interlibrary loan
Use to access books or journal articles not held in the University of Auckland Library system.
Search for items in the Catalogue under a subject heading. The following are useful:
- Education bilingual
- Educational tests and measurements
- English language ability testing
- English language study and teaching
- English language textbooks for foreign speakers
- Interlanguage language learning
- International English Language Testing System.
- Language and languages ability testing
- Language and languages study and teaching
- Languages modern study and teaching
- Second language acquisition
Building on your research
More resources for your assignments can be found by:
- Finding journal articles
Watch this video to find out how to find a specific article you are after.
- Searching databases
Use to find articles on a specific topic.
- Finding theses and dissertations
Search for items held at the University of Auckland or in other universities.
See Referencing tab for help with managing your references.
Lists of Corpora and related tools
- Text corpora and corpus linguistics
Includes MonoConc Pro; maintained by Associate Professor Michael Barlow.
- Bookmarks for corpus-based linguistics
Comprehensive lists of collections, tools and software; maintained by David Lee.
- Well-known and influential corpora: A survey
By Richard Xiao at the University of Lancaster.
Corpora available at the Library
- British National Corpus for Linguistics
Contemporary written and spoken British English texts. See the related Phrases in English corpus.
- ICAME Collection of English Language Corpora see also CD-ROMs and web information
Collection of English language corpora including WordSmith, Wellington Corpus of New Zealand English and others.
- International corpus of learner English (ICLE)
English written by learners from eleven different European mother tongue backgrounds.
- Dictionary of Old English corpus
- Linguistic Data Consortium corpora
To find other corpora CDs held in the library, search the Catalogue:
- Enter corpus into the search box. Click Search.
- From the results screen, select More Options under Refine My Results >> Format.
- Select Other.
- MICASE Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English
Online database of 152 transcripts totalling 1.8m words.
Multilingual corpus with data for childhood bilingualism (CHILDES), second language acquisition, conversation anaylsis, etc.
- Middle English compendium
New Zealand English
- New Zealand Newspaper Corpus
New Zealand English between 1850-2000; developed by John Macalister.
- Diachronic Corpus of New Zealand Newspapers
1996-2011; developed by Andreea Calude and Paul James.
- Peking University modern and ancient Chinese corpora.
- Modern (1919 - 2000) and ancient Chinese corpora
Developed by China's National Language Committee
- Corpus of Mass Media Chinese
By the National Broadcast Media Language Resources Monitoring and Research Center.
- Linguist list
Forum where academics discuss linguistic issues and exchange information.
- Linguistic Society of New Zealand
- Summer Institute of Linguistics
Includes glossary, software, book reviews, web links by subjects
Second language acquisition
- Centre for Applied Linguistics
Digests on current topics; resource guide on second language teaching methodologies.
- The internet TESL journal
Sections on techniques, lessons and activities.
- Language testing resources
By Glenn Fulcher at the University of Leicester.
- US National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisiiton
Search the resource library for research articles.
Catalogs all the known living languages in the world today.
Collection of self-archived papers in linguistics.
- Speech accent archive
By Steven Weinberger at the George Mason University.
- Austronesian basic vocabulary database
Lexical items from 998 languages spoken throughout the Pacific region.
- Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative
Geographically view layers of data through time on Pacific language mapping for the regions of the Pacific, Southeast Asia (apart from Burma), and Madagascar.
Princeton University lexical database.
- Use RefWorks to help organise your references and insert them easily into your assignment.
- APA is a common referencing style in the Faculty of Arts. Check your course outline or consult with your lecturer to find out the style to use.
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.