Interdisciplinary Databases



  • Academic Research Library
    Multidisciplinary, fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Provided by ProQuest.
  • Academic Search Premier
    An EBSCOhost collection of scholarly journals in a wide range of subject areas: social sciences, arts and literature, engineering, general science, multicultural studies and many more.
  • BreakOut
    Contains details of awards, scholarships and grants available to NZ individuals
  • CBCA Complete
    Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database.
  • College Source Online
    Over 8,700 College Catalogs in PDF format representing graduate and professional schools collated by the US Career Guidance Foundation.
  • Credo Reference
    An online collection of over 500 reference books covering applied sciences, science, humanities and social sciences.
  • Current Contents Connect
    Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals
  • Early English Books Online
    Facsimile access to over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. Covers 227 years of English printing in all subject areas.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica Online
    Includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations and Encyclopædia Britannica World Atlas.
  • Expanded Academic (Academic OneFile)
    Multidisciplinary database from the Gale Group with access to academic journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images
  • Factiva
    Factiva gives access to a wide range of global news, business and industry information content including 93 same-day newswires and thousands of sources in 22 languages from 159 countries.
  • FirstSearch
    A range of databases in all subject areas, some with full text, and WorldCat.
  • Google Scholar
    A search engine for scholarly literature.
  • Index to Theses
    A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR contains the full text of over 1000 scholarly journals, mainly back issues, and some current issues.
  • nzresearch.org.nz
    This is a gateway to open-access research documents, such as theses, produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand.
  • NZSTATS : New Zealand Statistics Sources
    A collection of links to New Zealand statistics on the web – these include internet, database and print sources.
  • OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web
    A collection of links to free official statistics on the web.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language, tracing the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    The Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.
  • OxResearch
    A 'first draft of history', OxResearch provides succinct articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide.
  • PapersInvited
    Presents an exhaustive list of Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines.
  • Population Index
    Covers all fields of interest to demographers (1986-1999)
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database with over 17,000 titles, including over 11,000 titles in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses provides bibliographic citations and abstracts for doctoral dissertations and masters’ theses completed at universities worldwide.
  • Reference Universe
    An online service from Paratext, Reference Universe indexes over 20,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contains the full text of 2500 journals and 6000 books primarily from the Sciences, Technology, Medicine and Engineering, although there are also some titles from Social Sciences and Business & Economics.
  • Scirus
    A search engine for scientific content covering both the open web and subscription databases.
  • Scopus
    Scopus indexes over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles in the Sciences, Medicine, Engineering & Social Sciences; often with links to the full text of the item/article.
  • Te Puna: New Zealand National Union Catalogue
    Over 10 million bibliographic records for New Zealand and overseas resources, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    An international directory of serial publications. Produced by ProQuest.

Top of page

Databases By Subject

Order by Subject




Comments and suggestions to: digital.services@auckland.ac.nz